A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses
Home city guide administration in malappuram

Administration in Malappuram

The civil station area comprises the main administrative centre of the district and is the seat of the government of the Malappuram region. All the administrative offices like the Zilla Panchayat or District Panchayat, the Collectorate, the Treasury, the RTO, the Town Planning Offices, the PWD Divisional officers along with several others all have their offices here in this region. While the Malappuram District Administration looks after the entire district the Municipal Corporation headed by the Municipal chairman takes care of the various activities within the limits of Malappuram city only.
Administration in Malappuram

The city in itself is comprised of 40 wards. It is from these wards that the elected members for the Municipal Council. A singularly interesting fact about the Malappuram Municipal Corporation is that it is the only one to be accorded ISO 9001- 2008 certification in the area of quality management.

The city police looks after the law and order situation in the city and ensures it helps the citizens in their day-to-day activities. The police is headed by the Deputy Superintendent of Police. The office of the Superintendent of Police is also located at Malappuram. The same area in Malappuram traffic police looks into the regulation of traffic in the city. The police department also comprises the bomb squad, the dog squad, the narcotic cell, the women cell, the Malabar special police as also the District Armed Police Camp as also the Crime Bureau.

Administrative Divisions of Malappuram

The district on the other hand comprises seven municipalities. These are named as follows Manjiri, Malappuram, Peritnalmanna, Tirur, Ponnani, Majeri, Kottakkal and Nilambur. There are one hundred and thirty five villages in all, along with 100 Panchayats distributed over 14 blocks. Entire Malappuram, thus, has been divided into two revenue divisions which are Perinthalmanna and Tirur respectively for the purposes of facilitating administration.

The district collector is easily approachable to help the citizens of Malappuram and their contact address as well as numbers and email id are as follows: -

District Collector, Malappuram

Ph No.: 0483 – 2734355(off), 0483- 273225(Resi), 944653017 (Mobile)
Email dem.ker@nic.in, mlp.collectorate@messaging.keralagovt.gov.in

The overall area of Malappuram is three thousand two hundred and twenty kilometer square (3220 sq Km) only. The population of the district is of 36, 29,640 strength.

The political entity of Malappuram in Kerala  comprises the Mulappuram Assembly Constituency and the Malappuram Lok Sabha Constituency. Both of these have been represented by the Muslim League in the Indian Union.

Among the highlights of the Malappuram administration are the district achievements of having Zero Pendency on the files. It is also one of the areas having the highest number of vehicles purchased in the region. Almost all the distributors and manufactures of world-class vehicles have their showrooms in Malappuram. Thus, the district also had the highest number of vehicular registrations and the special achievement is that there are negligible cases of car theft in the region.

The head of the district is the District Collector (DC). He is assisted by the Additional District Collector (ADC) as well as the Sub-Divisional Magistrates who are maintaining the sub-division in their jurisdiction.

The administration at the block level is managed by the Block Development Officers who look after the panchayats which lie below this level of administration. All management of Panchayat and village-level activities, problems, grants, disbursement, etc are the responsibility of the Block Development Officer. Thus, the administration of Malappuram is three-tiered to serve the citizens better. The panchayats are independent entities being the elected representatives of the people at the village level. Most socio-economic issues and family disputes are usually settled at the level of the Panchayats. The head of the Panchayat is the Sarpanch and who is assisted by a group of Panches and member of the Mahila Mandal.

Major Cities You Must Know

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries